Skip to content

Personal tools
You are here: Home - IMNE
Document Actions


Workshop in Honor of Stefan Maruster's 70th Birthday

Extended deadline: July 15, 2007

IMNE 2007


in the framework of

9th International Symposium on
Symbolic and Numeric Algorithms for Scientific Computing
Timisoara, Romania
September 26 - 29, 2007

Workshop description

The workshop is focused both on computational aspects and qualitative properties of iterative methods for nonlinear equations. The possibilities of parallel implementation and the  efficiency of the algorithms (soundness, computation complexity, rate of convergence, etc.) for large and sparse nonlinear equations in finite dimensional spaces is of special interest.

IMNE'07 invites authors to submit their original and unpublished work that demonstrate current research in all areas related with iterative methods for nonlinear equations. Submitted papers have to be original, containing new and interesting results.


Suggested topics for papers include, but are not limited to, the following:

  -Newton and quasi-Newton methods,
  -Methods with high convergence rate,
  -Inexact Newton method and forcing factor,
  -Nonlinear conjugate gradient iteration,
  -Mann and Ishikawa iteration,
  -Algorithms for polynomial equations,
  -Asynchronous algorithms,
  -Precondition for nonlinear systems,
  -Domains of convergence,

Submission of papers:

Papers of up to 8 pages edited using the IEEE conference style  must be submitted electronically to

All papers will be peer  reviewed by at least two or more independent referees of the program  committee of IMNE07 and accepted on the basis of their scientific merit and relevance to the Workshop topics. Papers accepted for presentation will be published in the SYNASC'07 post-proceedings.


Workshop deadlines:
Submission of papers (extended deadline):  July 15, 2007
Notification of acceptance:  August 10, 2007
Final paper:   September 1, 2007
Registration:   September 1, 2007

Workshop chairs:

Charles E. Chidume, International Centre for Theoretical Physics, Italy
Stefan Maruster, West University of Timisoara, Romania

Program Committee:
Vasile Berinde, Romania
Emil Catinas, Romania
Gheorghe Coman, Romania 
Octavian Cira, Romania
Tetsuo Ida, Japan
Costantin Ilioi, Romania
Laura Maruster, The Netherlands
Ion Pavaloiu, Romania
Dana Petcu, Romania
Stephen Watt, Canada


© 2001-2012 SYNASC 2007 - Contact: